It’s giving “Online School”

To start, accept my apologies for being unable to send weekly updates of my current virtual program with ALX. It has been a grueling yet exciting number of weeks so far, and I must admit how much I have enjoyed it.

Today’s update shall be under 3 subsections: Overview of the past weeks, The learning experience, and what the future holds.

Overview of the Past weeks

The past weeks have been filled with many tasks and different topics to cover. I first thought this would have been an easy breezy course till I encountered Week 4’s tasks.

In summary, it was not a walk in the park. I was only able to accomplish that week’s tasks after breaking every requirement into smaller tasks so as to not feel overwhelmed and underachieved. It was the week I had to prepare a travel pack and a work plan.

Both tested my research skills, which came in very handy. At this point, I may just add “Love surfing the web for random information” to my skill set because it saved me a lot of time since it is a favorite pastime. I was able to complete everything and scored the maximum grades for it.

Learning Experience

Being one who likes using my knowledge in practical ways, I found Weeks 4 and 5 very exciting because I was able to test how much I had learned and practically demonstrate it. I know this is very important for people like me, who sometimes have a very short attention span. One thing that has helped me with the program is how I am able to break down what is necessary to be learned into consumable bits.

Thankfully, most of the things I have encountered were concepts that were more practical than abstract so it was very easy to assimilate.

However, my time was affected the most. During the past three weeks, I had to combine studies with very tasking projects and close-call deadlines, which made it hard for me to concentrate on my studies. Thankfully, I caught up with it.

What the future holds

The future holds OPPORTUNITIES. These opportunities will test how much I leverage all these skills I have acquired and channel them into other areas. I remember Dr. Esi Ansah once told me how important to see certain skills not as skills, but as tools that help navigate other areas of work that feed the bigger picture of our goals.

I have two weeks left to complete this program and I must say I have learned quite a lot about myself in just these past 6 weeks.

Till the next update on my journey, this is giving me “Finish Hard” vibes!

Leave a comment